Wednesday, June 17, 2009

Director Candidate Suggestions Sought

Director candidate nominations are now being accepted by the NAPSLO Nominating Committee in order to assist the Committee in developing the slate of directors to be presented for a vote at the next Annual Business Meeting to be held in conjunction with the 2009 NAPSLO Annual Convention in Orlando, Florida on October 9, 2009.

NAPSLO members must submit the candidate names for consideration as director nominees no later than August 26, 2009, but members are encouraged to submit such names as soon as possible. Suggested candidate names may be submitted to the committee, in writing, by e-mail at; by postal mail to the NAPSLO office; or directly to members of the Nominating Committee.

The Nominating Committee is chaired by former Past President Bill Newton of RPS Los Angeles (Lemac & Assoc.) and members of the committee are: Dave Leonard, RSUI Group; Hank Haldeman, The Sullivan Group; Tim Makowski, Specialty Lines Underwriters, and Steve Vaccaro, MAX Specialty Insurance Co.

As required by the Association's Bylaws, the Nominating Committee will prepare slates of nominees and submit them to the NAPSLO membership at least 30 days prior to the Annual Business Meeting.

Members will vote at the Annual Business Meeting on the slate of five directors, who serve three year terms.
Characteristics the Nominating Committee considers in candidates include: integrity; personal character; willingness and ability to devote considerable time to the Association; ability to serve three to 10 years on the Board; a history of service to the industry, including NAPSLO committee work, involvement in state associations, active involvement in NAPSLO meetings or the NAPSLO schools; performing a leadership role in their own organization; and demonstrated leadership in the industry.

No comments: